In Language Arts we have started a new unit about communication. We will have to make our own campaign about an environmental issue and to give us ideas for our campaign we watched a few ted talks.

Ted talk 1

I started watching one on global warming and how if all the ice melts, a lot of countries and cities will be drowned by the water but it got quite boring after a few minutes. I know there are problems and I think most people know that too but it seems to me that all people that talk about global warming say the same thing and don’t seem to do it in an interesting way.

Ted talk 2

I then watched a ted talk about refugees which was very emotional and while telling the story of a refugee you start to realize how serious the problem is. The woman that was talking didn’t just do it in a boring way, she told the life story about a woman that wanted to leave her country together with her husband and thus spent all the money they had on trying to go to Europe. When pirates told them to get off the boat they were on and to get on their ship together with 500 other people they refused. The next day the same pirates came back and started ramming into the boat with their own boat. The boat with all the refugees broke and sank, the people in the bottom had no chance of getting out of the boat so they all drowned, quite some people got out of the boat including the refugee this story is about, I will not spoil the whole ted talk and if you are interested in watching it I definitely recommend it. If you want to watch it click here.

Ted talk 3

I then watched a ted talk about a woman that stood up for female rights and became one of the main ambassadors of the organization: “heforshe”, they try to make females and males equal everywhere around the world by convincing men to help. The organization already helped so many women all over the world, they got quite a few countries to promise that they would close the payment gap between men and women. In the world where we live in this might not seem so obvious because in some countries they are really changing it and the difference is so small it is barely noticeable, but in many poor countries there is a lot of space to change. If you are interested in this I recommend to watch this ted talk.

My opinion

In many western countries, gender doesn’t matter so much anymore or at least not the world where I grew up in. I was never that much aware of refugees either because it seemed so different, up until I was 12 or something I never actually met an illegal refugee. This might be because I lived in the middle of nowhere where like 2000 people live in a town. I knew about global warming because it is one of those things I learned quite a lot about in elementary school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *